FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
NYS VTL 512: Operating a Vehicle while the registration or privilege is suspended or revoked.
Operating a vehicle in New York State with a suspended or revoked registration is a misdemeanor. A conviction to this charge will result in a criminal conviction unless you are granted youthful offender status by the court. The sentence for a conviction to VTL 512 can include up to 30 days for the first offence, up to 90 days for a conviction on a second offense, and up to 180 days on a conviction for a third offense. While all courts in New York prosecute revoked registration tickets differently, an important factor is whether you were the owner of the vehicle. Some courts will look to see if there was insurance on the vehicle at the time of the stop, and in the event that you owned the vehicle, whether the vehicle plates have been surrendered to motor vehicles, or whether the registration suspension or revocation has been cleared.
NO ONE SHOULD EVER PLEAD GUILTY TO A NEW YORK TRAFFIC TICKET
WITHOUT FIRST CONSULTING WITH AN ATTORNEY
Call today for Help!