Or call us

New York Speeding Tickets

In New York State, all speeding tickets carry points. The higher over the limit you are convicted of going, the higher the points.  Upon conviction, some speeding tickets carry an automatic license suspension. With other speeding tickets, the decision whether to suspend a license or not is up to discretion of the court. You do not want a speeding ticket on your license if it can be avoided. That’s why it’s always a good idea to speak with an attorney before you decide to enter a plea of guilty.

The ultimate outcome any speeding ticket will depend on a number of factors. The court that the speeding ticket is returnable to, as well as the prosecutor prosecuting the case and the judge hearing the case will often affect the outcome of the case. We are able to negotiate most speeding tickets in New York. Speeding tickets that are returnable to the New York Traffic Violations Bureaus in Suffolk County, Rochester, Buffalo, and the five boroughs will have to be tried, as they do not allow plea bargaining. The goal at the Law Office of Gary S. Miller is always have your speeding ticket dismissed or reduced as much as possible.

The following are the number of points that each speeding conviction carries:

     3 points ----- 1 to 10 mph over limit
     4 points ---- 11 to 20 mph over limit
     6 points ---- 21 to 30 mph over limit
     8 points ---- 31 to 40 mph over limit
     11 points ---- over 40 mph over limit

Why you should not plead guilty to a New York Speeding Ticket:

Too many points will lead to a license suspension

You should always avoid being convicted of a speeding ticket when possible. All speeding tickets carry points. In fact, most speeding tickets carry a lot of points. For example, a speeding ticket of 76 miles per hour in a 55 mile per hour zone carries 6 points. If you accumulate over 10 points on your license within an 18 month period, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will automatically suspend your license.

Three or more speeding tickets will suspend your license for 6 months

If you are convicted of 3 speeding tickets with dates of violation within an 18 month period, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend your license for 6 months.

New York State Drivers Assessment fee

In New York State, if you accumulate 6 or more points, with violation dates within an 18 month period, the New York State DMV will impose a driver assessment fee. The driver assessment fee is in addition to any fines, surcharges and court fees the court may impose. Many speeding tickets by themselves carry 6 points. The New York State Driver assessment fee starts at $300 ($100 per year for 3 years) for 6 points. The higher the points, the higher the assessment. An 8 point speeding conviction carries a $450 driver assessment fee ($150 a year for 3 years). An 11 point speeding conviction will lead to a $675 driver assessment fee ($200 a year for 3 years) This is providing you have no other points on your license. If you already have points on your license that DMV is factoring in, the drivers assessment fee will be more.

Increased Insurance Premiums

Convictions for speeding tickets will usually lead to increased insurance premiums. In fact they are weighted heavier than most non-speeding tickets of the equivalent points. You always want to avoid a speeding ticket being placed on your license when possible.


Call today for Help!